Nomination to the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women

  • Joint media release with:
  • Senator The Hon Katy Gallagher, Minister for Finance, Minister for Women, Minister for the Public Service

The Australian Government proudly endorses Ms Natasha Stott Despoja AO for re-election to the United Nations (UN) Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW).

Ms Stott Despoja was first elected to CEDAW in 2021 and is the first Australian to serve on the Committee in almost 30 years.

CEDAW — a body of 23 independent experts — monitors the progress of UN member states' efforts to eliminate all forms of discrimination against women.

Minister for Women, Senator the Hon Katy Gallagher, commended Ms Stott Despoja's lifelong contribution to progressing gender equality and eliminating violence against women.

“Ms Stott Despoja is a fierce advocate for the progression of women's human rights and the advancement of women's representation in decision-making institutions domestically and internationally,” Minister Gallagher said.

“She is an influential global leader for gender equality, advocacy she will take into a second term on the committee and to her representation of Australia and advocacy for women's human rights across the globe.”

Minister for Foreign Affairs, Senator the Hon Penny Wong, affirmed Australia's commitment to eliminating discrimination against women at home and abroad.

“Gender equality is at the centre of the Australian Government's international and domestic policy agenda,” Minister Wong said.

“Ms Stott Despoja's continued service on the Committee will strengthen Australia’s advocacy for women's human rights as we work collaboratively with CEDAW to achieve gender equality globally and at home.”

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555