Elizabeth O’Neill Journalism Award 2023

  • Media release

Today I announce that the 2023 recipients of the Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award are Sarah Dingle of Australia and Yunita Tandililing of Indonesia.

Ms Dingle is a Senior Reporter of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation's Radio National Breakfast program and a dual Walkley Award winner. Ms Tandililing is a Lead Producer at Kompas TV with over 15 years' experience in broadcast media.

The award will support Ms Dingle and Ms Tandililing to spend two weeks in Indonesia and Australia respectively. Both journalists will engage in specialised programs to deepen their understanding of contemporary issues in each country.

The Elizabeth O'Neill Award is an initiative of the Australia-Indonesia Institute, which fosters links between Australia and Indonesia by increasing cultural awareness, cooperation and mutual understanding.

The Award commemorates the distinguished career of Elizabeth O'Neill OAM, who died in the service of her country in Indonesia on 7 March 2007. It continues the legacy of Ms O'Neill, who worked for the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and was passionate about fostering mutual understanding of Australia and Indonesia through informed media coverage.

The Award is open to high-achieving journalists from print, radio, television and online media organisations across Australia and Indonesia.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555