Appointment of Australian High Commissioners and Ambassadors

  • Media release

Today I announce the appointment of four career public servants to lead Australian posts in Austria, Kiribati, Singapore and the Netherlands.

Our diplomats are the driver of Australia’s engagement with the world and responsible for ensuring our national interests today and into the future.

I am pleased that these highly qualified individuals will take the following positions:

  • Mr Ian Biggs will be Australia’s next Ambassador to Austria, he will also be accredited to Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Slovakia and Slovenia. He will also be Australia’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Vienna, the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization, the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), where he will also serve on the IAEA Board of Governors.
  • Ms Karen Bray as Australia’s next High Commissioner to the Republic of Kiribati
  • Mr Allaster Cox as Australia’s next High Commissioner to Singapore.
  • Dr Greg French as Australia’s next Ambassador to the Netherlands.

I thank the outgoing Ambassadors and High Commissioners, for their contributions to advancing Australia’s interests.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555