Nomination to the International Court of Justice

  • Joint media release with:
  • Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash, Attorney-General, Minister for Industrial Relations

The independent Australian National Group – a body of eminent Australian jurists who serve as members of the Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague – has nominated Professor Hilary Charlesworth AM FASSA for election as a Judge of the International Court of Justice. The Australian Government has supported the nomination by the Australian National Group.

Professor Charlesworth is a leading scholar and jurist who has made a significant contribution to the study and practice of international law, including by serving as judge ad hoc at the International Court of Justice.

Professor Charlesworth is currently the Harrison Moore Chair in Law and Laureate Professor at Melbourne Law School and a Distinguished Professor at Australian National University. She has been a visiting professor at several law schools in the United States, France and the United Kingdom and has also held both an Australian Research Council Federation Fellowship and a Laureate Fellowship. She has been President of the Australian and New Zealand Society of International Law, as well as being closely engaged with the Asian Society of International Law and the American Society of International Law. She is a graduate of University of Melbourne and has a Doctor of Juridical Science from Harvard Law School.

The election will take place at the United Nations headquarters in New York on 5 November to fill the vacancy resulting from the passing of Judge James Richard Crawford LLD, FBA, AC, SC on 31 May 2021, whose term was due to conclude on 5 February 2024.

Media enquiries