MIKTA Foreign Ministers’ Joint Statement on the Recent Earthquake and Tsunami in Indonesia

  • Joint Statement
03 October 2018

We, the Foreign Ministers of Mexico, the Republic of Korea, Turkey and Australia (members of MIKTA), are saddened by the loss of life and devastation caused by the 7.5-magnitude earthquake and the subsequent tsunami that hit the cities of Palu and Donggala, on the island of Sulawesi, on 28 September 2018.

We extend our deepest sympathies and condolences to the families of those who lost their lives, and wish a prompt recovery to those injured. We stand in full solidarity with the Government and the people of Indonesia in the aftermath of these natural disasters.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555