High Commissioner to Tuvalu

  • Media release

Today I announce the appointment of Ms Karyn Murray as Australia's next High Commissioner to Tuvalu.

Ms Murray will be Australia's first resident High Commissioner to Tuvalu and will establish our new High Commission in Funafuti. This is Australia's 14th diplomatic post in the Pacific.

Tuvalu is a priority for Australia's stepped-up engagement in the Pacific. It was one of the first countries to participate in the new Pacific Labour Scheme that commenced on 1 July 2018. Australia looks forward to working closely with Tuvalu as it prepares to host the 50th Pacific Islands Forum Leaders' Meeting in 2019.

Australia's strong and growing relationship with Tuvalu is based on our shared agenda of prosperity, stability and security for the Pacific. Australia provides more than $9.7 million in development assistance to Tuvalu and is helping to strengthen the country's economic and environmental resilience, and to improve gender equality and disability inclusiveness.

Ms Murray is a career officer with the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) and was most recently Counsellor, Australian High Commission, Honiara. She has previously served overseas as Deputy Head of Mission, Nauru. In Australia she has served in various positions, including most recently as Director, PNG Policy.

Ms Murray holds a Masters of Management from the Australian National University and a Bachelor of Applied Science from the University of Technology Sydney.

I thank outgoing High Commissioner Amy Crago, who is based in the Australian High Commission in Fiji, for her contributions to advancing Australia's interests in Tuvalu since 2017.

Media enquiries