Establishing Maritime Boundaries in the Timor Sea

  • Joint media release
29 July 2019

Today, the Australian Parliament passed legislation to implement the treaty between Australia and the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste Establishing their Maritime Boundaries in the Timor Sea.

The treaty establishes permanent maritime boundaries between our two countries and a stable legal framework for the development of gas and oil resources in the Timor Sea.

It upholds Australia's commitment to international rules and the peaceful resolution of disputes, and reflects our full commitment to the independence, sovereignty and economic sustainability of Timor-Leste.

Since the signing of the treaty on 6 March 2018, the Australian Government has worked with the Timor-Leste Government and offshore petroleum operators on transitional arrangements that provide commercial certainty and security for all the parties.

With the passage of the treaty's implementing legislation today, Australia is now ready to partner with Timor-Leste to jointly develop the Greater Sunrise gas fields for the benefit of both countries.

Greater Sunrise will provide new opportunities for income, and commercial and industrial development in Timor-Leste, and is an important part of Timor-Leste's economic future.

As Timor-Leste celebrates the 20th anniversary of its independence vote this year, Australia remains steadfast in our support for Timor-Leste's prosperity and role in the Indo-Pacific, and our friendship with the Timorese people.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555