Australian elected as Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization

  • Media release

I congratulate Dr Robert Floyd on his election to lead the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) as its Executive Secretary.

As the first Executive Secretary elected from the Indo-Pacific, this demonstrates Australia's active commitment to nuclear non-proliferation and disarmament, and our practical contribution to multilateral co-operation. 

With 185 State Signatories, the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) aims to end nuclear weapons testing worldwide. Dr Floyd will play a critical role in supporting the Treaty’s objectives. Australia thanks the many countries that supported his candidacy.

Australia has strongly advocated for a comprehensive and permanent ban on nuclear test explosions since the 1980s and, in 1996, spearheaded the adoption of the United Nations General Assembly resolution to establish the CTBTO. 

Australia hosts the third largest number of facilities in the CTBT’s International Monitoring System, which monitors the globe for explosive nuclear testing.

Dr Floyd is currently the Director-General of the Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office, which implements Australia's treaty obligations relating to weapons of mass destruction.  He will take up his appointment as CTBTO Executive Secretary on 1 August 2021, succeeding Dr Lassina Zerbo who has served in the role with distinction since 2013. 

For more information about Dr Floyd, visit: .

Media enquiries