Appointment of Australia-ASEAN Council Board Members

  • Media release

 I am pleased to announce the appointment of Ms Poh Ling Yeow and Prof. Nicholas Farrelly to the Board of the Australia-ASEAN Council.

Southeast Asia has profound strategic and economic significance for Australia. The role of the Australia-ASEAN Council is to support stronger networks between people and institutions in Australia and the region.

Ms Yeow is a cook, artist, actress, author and television presenter of Malaysian heritage based in South Australia. Professor Farrelly is Head of Social Sciences at the University of Tasmania.

Ms Yeow and Professor Farrelly will bring new perspectives to the Australia-ASEAN Council Board and strengthen its focus on supporting friendship, understanding and opportunity between Australia and Southeast Asia.

I am delighted that intercultural communications consultant Ms Tamerlaine Beasley will continue to serve on the Board and thank Ms Gabby Costigan for her contribution to the Council.

The Australia-ASEAN Council has also approved 18 community grants that will build on the government's investment in our partnerships with Southeast Asia and foster engagement during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Projects include an online series to support young people to tackle social challenges; an online platform to improve trade between Australia and Vietnam; and a new forum to boost recovery in the tourism and hospitality sectors in Australia and across ASEAN.

For more information on the Australia-ASEAN Council, visit

Media enquiries