Applications open for the 2019 Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award

  • Media release
25 January 2019

I am pleased to announce applications are now open for the 2019 Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award. The Award is open to high-achieving journalists from print, radio, television and online media organisations in Indonesia and Australia.

The Award commemorates the distinguished career of Elizabeth O'Neill OAM, who died in Indonesia on 7 March 2007 while in the service of the Australian Government, and builds on her tireless work to foster mutual understanding between Australia and Indonesia by encouraging accurate and informed media coverage.

One Australian journalist and one Indonesian journalist will be selected to undertake a fully funded exchange program of up to two weeks to enhance the mutual understanding and appreciation of both countries. The program will be tailored to each journalist's areas of interest and expertise.

Since the program began in 2007, Award recipients have reported on a range of issues including: politics, trade and business, social change and development issues, agriculture, religion and education.

The Elizabeth O'Neill Award is one of the Australia-Indonesia Institute's flagship programs. Established in 1989, the Australia-Indonesia Institute fosters links between Australia and Indonesia by increasing cultural awareness, promoting cooperation and exchange, and enhancing understanding between our two nations.

Applicants must be Australian citizens resident in Australia or Indonesian citizens resident in Indonesia, and available to travel during July-August 2019.

Applications close on 8 February 2019. For more information, visit the DFAT website

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555