Additional Sanctions on Russia

  • Media release

The Australian Government has imposed targeted financial sanctions on a further 147 individuals in response to Russia’s illegal war, comprising Russian senators and family members of President Putin and Foreign Minister Lavrov.

This brings to nearly 750 the total number of individuals and entities we have sanctioned in response to the illegal invasion. We will continue to increase costs on Russia, in coordination with partners, targeting those who bear responsibility for Russia’s unjustified and unprovoked aggression in Ukraine or hold levers of influence.

This round of sanctions targets 144 Russian senators who provided support to President Putin by approving the illegitimate recognition of independence of the Ukrainian regions of Donetsk and Luhansk on 22 February 2022. On 24 February 2022, Putin used this vote to justify his illegal, unprovoked and wholly unjustifiable invasion.

Australia, at the outset of the invasion, listed 338 Duma MPs for their vote for this illegitimate recognition of independence.

These sanctions are also applied to two daughters of President Putin and one daughter of Foreign Minister Lavrov. President Putin and Minister Lavrov were themselves listed for sanctions on 27 February 2022. These listings are consistent with our approach to those who have benefited from the Russian regime, including immediate family members of those in power. The three individuals have been sanctioned by likeminded partners of Australia.

The Australian Government again reiterates our strongest support for Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity and for the people of Ukraine. We again call upon Russia to withdraw its military forces immediately from Ukraine.

Media enquiries