2019 Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award

  • Media release
29 March 2019

I am pleased to announce that the two 2019 recipients ofthe prestigious Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award are Sinead Mangan fromAustralia and Andini Effendi from Indonesia.

Ms Mangan is the Executive Producer of the AustralianBroadcasting Corporation's Australia Wide program. Ms Effendi is the host ofvarious current affairs and news programs on Metro TV in Indonesia.

The award will support Ms Mangan and Ms Effendi to spendtwo weeks in Indonesia and Australia respectively, to deepen theirunderstanding of contemporary issues in each country.

The Elizabeth O'Neill Journalism Award commemorates thedistinguished career of Elizabeth O'Neill OAM, who died in the service of theDepartment of Foreign Affairs and Trade in Indonesia on 7 March, 2007.

This award continues the legacy of Ms O'Neill, who waspassionate about fostering mutual understanding of Australia and Indonesiathrough informed media coverage. It is open to high-achieving journalists fromprint, radio, television and online media organisations across Australia andIndonesia.

TheElizabeth O'Neill Award is an initiative of the Australia-Indonesia Institute,which fosters links between Australia and Indonesia by increasing culturalawareness, cooperation and exchange between our two nations.

Media enquiries

  • Minister's office: (02) 6277 7500
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555